Green Screen Success – Part 3

 

Over winter break, I started thinking about my next big reading unit. I decided I wanted to do a unit on biographies. I started pinning ideas on Pinterest and brainstorming directions this unit could go with fellow colleagues. I knew I wanted my third grade class to research influential people, learn how to take notes, then share their new understandings with the class.

I kept circling back to the thought, “How neat would it be if a student who was fascinated with President Obama could snap his/her fingers and appear at the White House to interview him?” I couldn’t think of anything more meaningful. But how would I help my students get to the White House? This was an obstacle. Will teleportation one day exist? It’s hard to tell with the rate technology is advancing, but in the meantime, I wanted to find a unique, authentic way for my students to connect with the individuals they study. What better way than for them to feel as if they are really them and really somewhere significant to them?

This brought me to the idea of using a green screen to capture student speeches as if they are the famous figures they study giving an autobiographical report from anywhere around the world. I’ve learned how to use a green screen, the app Veescope Live, and an iPad/iPhone to create a green screen production. Without any further ado, I present you Ms. Wortinger, the news anchor:

 

 

It wasn’t always this smooth of sailing in the recording studio. You can read more about my trials and tribulations in learning to use a green screen here and here. Thanks to Brad Wright’s YouTube Channel, I was provided with tutorials on using Veescope Live and able to make this project a success. His YouTube tutorials were especially helpful to me because they brought life to his teachings – it was like having my very own personal tutor to help me learn something new. 

I can’t wait for my students to try this for their culminating biography project. As you help your own students with green screen production, remember these helpful tips:

  • For clarity, use a green screen (like a green sheet or butcher block paper), not a blank wall.
  • Brighten the classroom lights to eliminate shadows.
  • Use a tripod or set something up to balance the iPhone/iPad.
  • Purchase the app to eliminate the watermark.
  • Have fun!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment